What Happens Next?

What Happens Next?.

I wrote in response. In fact, I got going and had to stop; my response became a little bit of a rant. This is and truly should be a passion evoking subject. What do you think?
I think the following and a whole lot more..

Hello, once again thanks to Sherri I have read your post and will, when I can read your book. If only I could find the time, the attention span and even afford to read all that there is. If only… yes, you are right I believe, that the majority of inertia across our planet is based on not really knowing exactly what to do. Stopping using plastic bags and plastic foods, reducing our individual carbon foot print; becoming more aware and sharing our vision all helps yet still feels the frustration of too little too late. And yes, again somewhere in all that you have written lies an awful truth that we, myself included to some degree are guilty of hiding. We hide in our ignoring, in our not doing if it is too difficult, demanding or reductive to our habitual way of being. Our comfort zones do appear to have bigger boundaries than the secrets of politicians and other liars.
I have to look for the relevance and yet another book to afford and too read – the cows can save us? I thought that the methane from their being farmed by us was:is of large negative effect on temperature.
What really heats us up? Our values? In all that we value most, so title is of actual necessity or true advantage to life. We pay more, meaning that we value more, those who move money, entertain us – divert our minds from real things, assist us with technological gimmickry that lightens our load, makes our lives easier.. Yes this has value, of course. But more value than food, accommodation, social support, health car and support of through healthier living styles and when ill, injured, elderly and less firm.. what small actual importance we show in the value that is attached. Corporations controlling governments through funding and our total misplacing of values in a monetary based world is what is heating us up as we drive (pub intended) onward in search for more.
Only if we remove our system(s) and re-evaluate by looking at the things that REALLY matter, such as global warming and poverty, starvation and exclusion in the widest sense. If we can genuinely realise, embrace and work for our greatest assets, ourselves and our planet. If we can remove the individualistic self centred self-defensive mindset we can have more, with less. Less effort and no damage.
OK, I’ll get off of my soap box, apologise for the grammar during my ranting and do as I know I shouldn’t, press send without re-reading. Else the other things that I should be doing will not happen..
Thank you for the positive that you express so well. I too will re post your post with my little rant and wish that I had those elements mentioned at the beginning that would push me to write the HOW this better world CAN be. I know that I am not alone with ideas. A real parliament would consist of us all, using technology to share our ideas and truly consider each of then for the better of us all.

About JJBollOX

This is an update. The slight humour aka sarcasm will be lost on anyone who hasn't read this before the update. I am, still a British male. Still living but not in Switzerland. I intend to remain, living and male. When I wrote before I had "spent the better part of two months negotiating the change in my self identity. Unemployed and sharing home with a now ex-girlfriend. I've moved. Moved on. Maybe a year has passed by. Have I moved in an upward direction? Is upward the only way to go if we are to expand, broaden and grow? Realistically, the most dramatic (not exactly decisive) direction I have taken in the time was down. Down, down and deeper than down. I fell off of a mountain. My life got complicated yet simple. This in itself is a fair summary of my personality. I have posted the first words of blogs to be written which I would like to turn into a book. 'A normal life.' Let's see how well and how fruitfully I can express my frustrations, pain, healing process and the constant changes that are life.
This entry was posted in abundance, accept, accomodation, action, ad-infinitum, afford, alternative, anybody, argument, Art, balance, banks, beauty, catastrophe, challenge, change, circle, common, communicate/communication, Communication, conspiracy/conspiracies, content, control, corporate, corporations, correct, costs, depressing, Develop/developing, different factors, different/same, direction, disagree, discuss/discussion, do, doing, Dreamers, Dreams, driving, factors, Facts, family, feeling and feelings, food, Freedom, GMO, Good/Bad, Government, habit/habits/habitual, habitually, health, hope, housing, hunger, idea, idealist, ideals, ideas, imbalance, income, Individual. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Happens Next?

  1. JJBollOX says:

    My rant really is evidence that we should always edit before publishing! I hope that you are able to adjust the typos and allow for the missing grammar. It should have been a little, not a title and a pun rather than the pub and well I hope that this continues and increases the discussion and that this discussion turns us all into collectively doing more.

  2. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    “the time, the attention span and afford to” – I relate!! You’re funny :).

    “I’ve pressed send without rereading” – yes, it’s a risk, but this was fine, Johnny. It was a good post. And yes, if only – if ONLY we cared more about real issues…

    • JJBollOX says:

      Thank you N’n! As always you are my most wonderful follower. One day I will do you justice and catch up and keep up and, well, “the time, the attention span and afford to” … I’ve hardly read any of your book, though I’ve two others I’m working on slowly for school and all those other things. I’m sorry! I hope to launch my own web-site which will link directly here, FBook, and all the other places and has a better format than WP allowing me to express myself better. This ‘Press This’ was a disaster! I though that I would be placing Jan Krause Greene’s and Sheri, The Other Side of Ugly’s posts and therefore a chain of recognition would be set. But no! What is the point in Press This if it does not automatically give recognition to the origins?
      I hope that you are as great as I think you are 🙂 Ox

  3. Hi, Thanks for your comments on What Happens Next. I am anxious to respond, but too tired right now. I’ll be back. I found your “rant” interesting and I can see beyond typos, so no worries there!

    • JJBollOX says:

      Thank you for thanking me and for inspiring my late night rant 😉 I’m not feeling an awful lot of love for the WPress site (too destructive in it’s prescriptiveness. Then, welcome to our world that has so much wrong but so many more rights on and within it. It’s for us to focus and highlight the good stuff though I feel it easy to get trapped battling with the bad and even not so good 😦 😉
      So again thank you I look forward to reading more of your contribution to what can be Ox

  4. winnymarch says:

    Hei John, how are u? long not talk with u. i agree with ur friend said that the majority of inertia across our planet is based on not really knowing exactly what to do.

  5. Hi again,
    Adding to our confusion with WORDPRESS – I have addressed you as OX in previous replies. Now I think your name is Johnny. So just to cover both possibilities- I will call you Johnny Ox, until you set me straight! 😉
    The rest of this is in answer to your comment:”I have to look for the relevance and yet another book to afford and too read – the cows can save us? I thought that the methane from their being farmed by us was:is of large negative effect on temperature.”

    For Johnny Ox and others who wonder about how cows can save the planet I have included a link to a radio interview with Judith Schwartz, the author of the book I recommend. The ideas in the book are not hers. She is more of a reporter. Here is a description of her book:
    In Cows Save the Planet, Judith Schwartz takes us on a fascinating, John McPhee-style journey into the world of soil rehabilitation. The eclectic group of farmers, ranchers, researchers, and environmentalists she visits have one thing in common: they all believe in the importance of organic matter in the soil for solving our most pressing environmental issues. Some of the innovative techniques they use to increase the vitality of their soil include no-tillage, using deep-rooted perennial grasses, cover crops, mulching, and, surprisingly, grazing large herds of animals according to a program called “holistic management.” Imagine, a book about soil that’s a real page turner!”
    —Larry Korn, editor of The One-Straw Revolution and Sowing Seeds in the Desert, by Masanobu Fukuoka

    Here is the link to the radio interview – you can read the transcript there, or listen to it online.
    http://www.npr.org/2013/06/17/191670717/cows-to-the-rescue-soils-secrets-for-saving-the-earth

    The more we know the more we can do, right?
    Jan
    Reply
    Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

