Minutes to go .. Fill (your) Bucket List. Achieve (your) dreams.

I don’t like Lesley Carter. I decided somewhat irrationally.
 
Here is s a woman organising the decor of her own purpose-built house, raising a child – an infant no less and yet placing her, sufficient, energies into exploring the world!
 
‘Me thinks he doth protest too much..,’ I hear from you? Well, if I don’t I should.
 
Hell yes, I’m jealous!
 
Let’s not over analyse, I’m jealous of all aspects. I entered the Big Blog Exchange it closes in a few days and my ranking has slid down a well-greased slide rather too rapidly to bolster my get up and go in any way.
Why? Well, obviously if you or I are going to do something, ‘one’ (I use that term very tongue in cheek) should at least make a decisive effort. Get fully involved and pursue that path properly(?)
 
I didn’t and my lack of success shows. Lesley Carter on the other hand – that hand busily warmly welcoming all it meets in the world – takes W.G. Murray’s statement:
 
“Until one is committed there is hesitancy, the chance to drawback, always ineffectiveness. Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation) there is one elementary truth, the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans; that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then Providence moves too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favour all manner of unforeseen incidents and meetings and material assistance, which no person could have dreamed would have come their way.

I have learned a deep respect for one of Goethe’s couplets:

‘Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius power and magic in it.”                                                                                                                  W.H.Murray The Scottish Himalayan Expedition

to a level that took him to his heights.
 
I’m personally seeing a lot in this world with complete contrast and contradiction. Such is, it seems necessary to consider all.
 
Here is a woman embracing what our world has to offer and what better way can there be to raise this planets future?
 
I ♥ Lesley Carter!
As Jason Cooke cringed saying, “without further ado here, over to you”…Lesley Carter!!!”

I READ THAT YOU WERE INSPIRED AT EIGHT YEARS OLD; THAT EVEN THEN YOU KNEW THAT TRAVEL AND EXPLORING WERE TO BE YOUR THING; “NOT DRESS UP AND DOLLS.”
(WERE YOU A ROUGH AND TOUGH TOM BOY TYPE, CLIMBING TREES, SWIMMING THE MISSISSIPPI HUCKLEBERRY FINN STYLE?)

“I certainly wasn’t a girly, girl; I’m still not. I have an older brother that I idolize and I learned to do whatever he did. Basketball, climbing hills, swimming in the huge ocean waves, fishing, building forts, climbing trees… were all a part of my daily life. “

Image

Geek Alabama  ASKED YOU THE QUESTION THAT I FIRST WANTED TO, HOW DID YOU COME UP WITH THE BUCKET LIST
YOU REPLIED THAT YOU’VE BEEN LISTING THINGS THAT YOU WISH TO DO ON A YEARLY BASIS SINCE TEN YEARS OF AGE! HOW MANY HAVE THERE BEEN? 

“Most years I just have one list and add things to it if I feel like I need more. Because I create a list each year, I put a lot of thought and energy into creating something that is somewhat unrealistic but still possible.”

HOW MANY HAVE YOU ACHIEVED?

“I’ve never missed an item on my yearly list; each list contains anywhere from 20-50 items and they are all filled with check marks.”

WELL, THAT ANSWERS MY NEXT QUESTION OF WHAT REMAINS FROM ALL THAT TIME AGO AND WHY. I GUESS THE ANSWER IS,

NEW THINGS 😉

Image

I HAVE SO MANY QUESTIONS.. FROM YOUR MOVE WITH YOUR HUSBAND TO CALIFORNIA WAS THIS WHEN YOU STARTED THIS BLOG? HOW DID YOU GET THE,  ‘IDENTITY, IS THAT THE RIGHT WORD?  WHAT WAS YOUR “EUREKA!” THIS IS WHAT I AM GOING TO DO.. MOMENT?

“Three weeks before we moved to California, we were chatting together. I asked Darren, “If you could do any career in the world, what would it be?” and “If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?” He answered that he was already doing the career and we came up with California as the ultimate place to live at that point in our lives. I, on the other hand, had one career that I’d rather be doing. I loved teaching and I was really good at it. Passion exuded from me daily and my students respected me for it, but travel writing was my one true desire. Within the month, we had resigned from our jobs, Darren found another, similar job in California, we sold everything we owned, moved to California, and started anew. That’s when Bucket List Publications began. The two topics that shaped my life as much as family and friends were/are travel and adventure and I’d always been writing “accomplishment lists” so bucket list ideas just fit. It was the accumulation of all of my wildest dreams come true.”

Image

MY REAL QUESTIONS ARE MORE CONCERNED WITH HOW YOU SEE OUR WORLD.  WITH A PRACTICALLY CONTINUAL SERIES OF ASPIRED TO DREAMS AND EXPERIENCES YOU MUST SEE OUR WORLD IN A MORE AMAZING LIGHT THAN MOST(?) THAT’S ALMOST A QUESTION – FEEL FREE TO RESPOND, THOUGH THE REAL QUESTION:

YOU HAVE CHOSEN TO PURSUE YOUR DREAMS IN CONTRAST TO THE NORM, THE CONFORMING 9-5 AND TWO WEEKS VACATION NUCLEAR FAMILY.. MY REAL QUESTION IS: WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE TO OTHERS, (JEALOUS LIKE ME 😉 LACKING IN SELF-BELIEF, FINDING ALL THE REASONS NOT TO.. WHAT MAKES YOUR WORLD?

“I have a beautiful life filled with travel, adventure, love, and family but it’s because I made it that way. Most people assume I was born with money, but that’s not true. I’m not rich, with money, and I work darn hard to make my life what it is. When I met Darren, my husband, we decided what was important in our lives and found ways to make it happen. We don’t spend money on the typical things that eat up a large part of an income. We rarely buy new clothes and when we do, it’s usually secondhand. An evening of entertainment is a movie at home, homemade popcorn, and if we really splurge – McDonalds. I don’t wear make-up and I even cut my own hair. We could easily go an entire week without spending a cent. We do this because those things are not important to us; what is important is travel and adventure so we put our money toward the things that make our life full. Once you decide what is truly important in your life, you can then start making it happen. It’s that simple for everyone. My life was never meant to fit the 9 to 5 mold, but I don’t think anyone’s is. You just have to make it a conscious choice,
“What do you really want to do?”

Image

OK, minutes to go, you can vote until Sunday March 31st to vote for Lesley Carter on the My Destination’s Biggest, Baddest Bucket List contest!  To vote for Lesley Carter go to: http://www.mydestination.com/users/lesley/bbb#tab

Vote NOW if you are a fraction as inspired (or envious) as I am..

I would like to say thanks to Lesley Carter and Bucket List Publications for answering questions and for providing the inspiration for those questions. Thank you to Geek Alabama and Jason Cooke for their contributions to my own questions, for their writing, theirs, Lesley Carter’s and the whole of the WordPress community, communication among normal people sharing ‘no such thing as a normal life’.

Learn more about Bucket List Publications at: http://www.bucketlistpublications.com/ and http://lesleycarter.wordpress.com/

Follow Lesley at https://twitter.com/#!/LesleyMCarter

If you manage to take all of that onboard and still have room for more, please feel free to read some more that I have written and comment with your considerable capacity for consideration 🙂

About JJBollOX

This is an update. The slight humour aka sarcasm will be lost on anyone who hasn't read this before the update. I am, still a British male. Still living but not in Switzerland. I intend to remain, living and male. When I wrote before I had "spent the better part of two months negotiating the change in my self identity. Unemployed and sharing home with a now ex-girlfriend. I've moved. Moved on. Maybe a year has passed by. Have I moved in an upward direction? Is upward the only way to go if we are to expand, broaden and grow? Realistically, the most dramatic (not exactly decisive) direction I have taken in the time was down. Down, down and deeper than down. I fell off of a mountain. My life got complicated yet simple. This in itself is a fair summary of my personality. I have posted the first words of blogs to be written which I would like to turn into a book. 'A normal life.' Let's see how well and how fruitfully I can express my frustrations, pain, healing process and the constant changes that are life.
This entry was posted in abundance, balance, blog, bucket list, challenge, change, communicate/communication, content, creative/creativity, decision, direction, Dreamers, Dreams, event, everything/anything/something, extraordinary, family, Freedom, happiness/happy, life, lifestyle, meaning, more, philosophy, random, reason/reasons, self-development, self-indulgent/self-indulgence, What If, Wishes, words, world, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Minutes to go .. Fill (your) Bucket List. Achieve (your) dreams.

  1. Pingback: The Interviews Continue | Bucket List Publications

  2. Pingback: Spread the Word | Bucket List Publications

  3. Anja says:

    I like your writing. 🙂 I don’t understand Bucketlists… 😦

    • JJBollOX says:

      Thank you very VERY much for liking my writing 🙂
      Do you mean that you do not understand what a bucket list is or that you do not understand the reasons that anybody would create one?

  4. Anja says:

    I know the film thebucketlist’. What I don’t get is why people need lists to do stuff they wanna? Sorry if thats stupid. I think I am missing the point lol

  5. Anja says:

    And I do like your writing. I am waiting for a story/tale/rant/ or whatever it will be, about life again 😀

  6. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Love the title of this one Johnny.

    I didn’t know who Lesley Carter was, & was figuring that was a bad thing. But I do now get it.

    Great post – & pictures. Those sky diving photos – I have one. I did it with my son when he turned 16. We loved it.

    I don’t know how people get there, really – that bit at the end ‘a full life, doing all I want’. I was damaged, working on stuff now, and so very average and in debt. Don’t know how they do it.

    Dare I say, good luck with the BBE?!

  7. JJBollOX says:

    Thanks, if I am lucky; seriously YOU will win 🙂 Yes, I have to agree, though we are all damaged some are more damaged and/or much longer in the underfunded repair shop.. My bucket list pale’s in comparison 😉 HaHa, I do not have one..

Leave a Reply

