“BollOX!”

A truly expressive word.

I had an answer machine some years ago. In the days when we had home numbers. When mobiles where SO expensive and even changing county cost roaming charges the like of leaving the country. Yes THAT long ago!

So this message started with a coughed, slightly muffled announcement using that word. The next line after a very slight pause was indeed, “A truly expressive word.” We  then broke into, “If you start me up, if you start me up I’ll never stop..” The Rolling Stones and Mick Jagger’s voice not my own.

This was followed by,
“Sometimes it needs to be said. So wait for the tone and express yourself.  Beeep.’

At that time I was an Off-Licencee, (selling alcohol from a shop.)
This answer machine was on my home number of course. The first person to call, the first day that it was sitting there all innocent in its black plastic tape recorder based box: the town Chief Superintendent of Police.
All credit to him, he left a message.

It remains one of my favourite words. It really does express so much both positive and negative attributes of so many things. I’ve come to write it as in the title to, give a hug and a kiss at the end and make it, less abrasive.

“AAAAAaaaaGGggGHHhhhhh!!!!” with many more exclamation marks!

All I want is SOME control over my WordPress page. To create lines/empty spaces between paragraphs. Of my own volition.

It seems that the theme I use controls this with a random calculator? I have tried following the instructions that I can find amongst the difficult to navigate boiler room of HMS Titanic like ‘Dashboard’.

Well, actually it isn’t all that I would like. I would like to add a menu of other posts to each page. I’ve tried and it is supposed to be there. It is not and neither are those lines.  Please see my post ‘All New’ as a – particularly frustrating – example.

OK I am using a free theme, Twenty eleven. Is it all changeable if paid?

Can and would anybody be able and willing to answer these questions? With as much humour and ridicule as I may deserve?

I wonder and wait whilst wishing you all well with your own endeavours.

That was then. Frustration over through a little more use, a lot more learning? Twenty Eleven made way and I’ve moved on to Twenty Ten. Is this a count down? That took over six months so I’ll be needing some reading glasses before I reach the end of the series. (Actually I need them now).

Now I am content and still fine tuning and learning but happily able to work on some content.
I decided not to delete but rather to update this post,  as the BollOX and frustration still rise and as the steam settles my expressions mellow aided by the empowerment of learning.

About JJBollOX

This is an update. The slight humour aka sarcasm will be lost on anyone who hasn't read this before the update. I am, still a British male. Still living but not in Switzerland. I intend to remain, living and male. When I wrote before I had "spent the better part of two months negotiating the change in my self identity. Unemployed and sharing home with a now ex-girlfriend. I've moved. Moved on. Maybe a year has passed by. Have I moved in an upward direction? Is upward the only way to go if we are to expand, broaden and grow? Realistically, the most dramatic (not exactly decisive) direction I have taken in the time was down. Down, down and deeper than down. I fell off of a mountain. My life got complicated yet simple. This in itself is a fair summary of my personality. I have posted the first words of blogs to be written which I would like to turn into a book. 'A normal life.' Let's see how well and how fruitfully I can express my frustrations, pain, healing process and the constant changes that are life.
This entry was posted in Communication, experiment/test, Freedom, Good/Bad, Incompetence/Competence, Media, Navigating, organise/organisation, problems, Reading, rules, sharing, Social sites, subscribe/subscription, Web/Internet, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

