Log in – to any…

Log in – to anything. Log In – you must.  For everything!  Just to look at, watch, read, listen: ‘LOG IN.’ ‘This App may post automatically. It requires your email, your birthdate and a short but, increasing in length and depth, list of personal details.
I don’t worry. I proceed and give it all. I even change the ‘who will see’ to ‘everyone’ – total public revelation of all that there is about me. Anybody is welcome to read what I read, listen to, watch.. sharing with everybody is synonymous with, well, life?
Unfortunately my statement above just isn’t true, is it? How often are you or I encouraged to share our opinion, our thoughts, our experiences compared with the frequency with which we are advised not to? Knowledge is power and what anybody knows can be used in a negative manner. Is that the fault of the information, no. Is it a fault of human nature? I don’t truly believe that it entirely is. Sure, there is good and bad, (grammar conundrum created: Is, singular entities, good and bad? ‘are’ plural, more than one) there are those who actively seek to do as much damage as they can with any tool at their disposal. Is this nature? Perhaps. Is it encouraged by a society structured as ours is? A society that celebrates those who come out on top. I feel a tangent from my intended direction with this post.

I set out to further my thoughts, and provoke your own, on the subject of our technological age. Typing this on my all impressive MacBook, having my words saved in ‘the cloud,’ distributed by, well, stuff that I haven’t quite got a complete understanding of. The cloud bit throws me most. As the internet is basically a bunch of computers, servers, hosts, clients all storage sending stuff, the same stuff in infinite copies backwards, forwards and in all directions. Yet, not located on some intergalactic star or satellite (generally). Connected by wires. Then Wi-Fi allows this signal to be sent without wires in the same way that mobile phone networks piggy back of off fixed transmitters. But the cloud..? Anyway yet again TangentsRUs is back
It is easy to see how, at the touch of the keypad my thoughts are taken, returned to this subject. Yet again I digress and society, it’s structure, it’s future and it’s inextricable from the influence of the technological age, core values is again and again facing restructure? I can but hope.

What to do?

A new society?
Almost 40 years ago (1974) Jaques Fresco stated, ‘The entire money structured and materialistic oriented society is a false society. Our society will go down in history as the lowest development in man. We have the brains, the know how, the technology and the feasibility to build an entirely new civilisation.  This was noted, stated and challenged as publicly as possible before our current technological revolution.  Inspired by ‘living through,’ the 1929 Great Depression; realising that the food and commodities and necessities were all still available and abundantly so: only money wasn’t..  Forty years on and there really isn’t much of a change in the general picture is there?
The film which I link to here, The Venus Project: The film is embedded here: 
in which he states his realisation that rather than working with individuals to improve or change society it would be more effective to redesign the culture. This man was heralded as truly being ahead of his time and with his outspoken interest in the function of society and the future of humanity he has managed to upset a number of institutes. For this if nothing else I salute this apparently eccentric individual. Yet, to return to his statement that it is better to create a new society than to work with the problems of the old?   Maybe I have mis interpreted this? It seems a little totalitarian of such an idealist, yet factual at the same time. Obviously the easiest way to remove the problem is simply to remove all problems.    ‘Hmmm..’

So how can we introduce and implement the idealism required for a new society? New Order? This feels more like measures taken by a ruling elite in stories such as George Orwell’s 1984 than a British pop/rock band. This fictional New Order should not be confused with Real World Order.

How do we influence new social values without them being forced upon society in a law like manner?  Rousseau wrote in ‘The Social Contract, 1762’, that no laws are binding unless agreed upon by the people. This is agreed as having created a new philosophy in French thinking, and one of the chief forces that brought on the French Revolution about 30 years later.
Are we to believe Rousseau’s 18th century predicate that ‘the vices of men stem from the establishment of societies?’  Nearly three hundred years pass and I personally see more proof of his point than evidence against it.  Rousseau’s writings summarise societies rules as made by the aristocracy with little interest in the welfare of the common man. Today’s societal rules are no longer of aristocracy but there still exists a ‘ruling elite’.
How can we bring all nations together as one mankind? (Humankind if you are over-sensitive to gender values. If you are then you are a part of the segregation mentality causing the problems).

I am waffling my way into an essay here and that is never my intention. What  is my intention? To communicate, effectively, share, hopefully to provoke (maybe even inspire) comment. Your comment. Create a discussion, discuss, digress, go where life takes us but wherever it does, remember and feel the value of all that we share above all that we individually have.

This is not finished. Hopefully.

About JJBollOX

This is an update. The slight humour aka sarcasm will be lost on anyone who hasn't read this before the update. I am, still a British male. Still living but not in Switzerland. I intend to remain, living and male. When I wrote before I had "spent the better part of two months negotiating the change in my self identity. Unemployed and sharing home with a now ex-girlfriend. I've moved. Moved on. Maybe a year has passed by. Have I moved in an upward direction? Is upward the only way to go if we are to expand, broaden and grow? Realistically, the most dramatic (not exactly decisive) direction I have taken in the time was down. Down, down and deeper than down. I fell off of a mountain. My life got complicated yet simple. This in itself is a fair summary of my personality. I have posted the first words of blogs to be written which I would like to turn into a book. 'A normal life.' Let's see how well and how fruitfully I can express my frustrations, pain, healing process and the constant changes that are life.
Aside | This entry was posted in Communication, Freedom, idealist, life, random, Social, Societal, Society, tangent, Technology, Value(s), Web/Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Log in – to any…

  1. JJBollOX says:

    Thank YOU: really all and each, or each and all who have read this and liked it. Thank you for the effort and interest to come back and see what I might have to say.
    What do you think of the Venus Project?

Leave a Reply

